padlock parentpay ceop unlock search twitter swipe translate

Langold Dyscarr Community School

“A Chance to Shine' and 'Dare to Bee Different”

Get in touch

Contact Details

Public Sector Equality Duty

2023– 2024


Legal Framework

At Langold Dyscarr Community School, we welcome our duties under the Equality Act 2010 to eliminate discrimination, advance equality of opportunity and foster good relations. We are committed to ensuring equality for all children and adults - irrespective of their sex (gender), race, disability, religion or belief, sexual orientation, gender reassignment, pregnancy or maternity.


The Equality Act makes explicit our responsibility to have due regard to the need to:

  • eliminate discrimination and other conduct that is prohibited by the Act;
  • advance equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it;
  • foster good relations across all characteristics - between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.


Guiding Principles

Staff and governors strive to promote equality in everything they do. This involves tackling the barriers which could lead to unequal outcomes so that there is equality of access, and the diversity within the school community is celebrated and valued.


Langold Dyscarr Community School prides itself on being an inclusive school that cares for every single child. 


We believe that equality at our school is delivered through our ‘chance to shine and dare to bee different' values. These values should permeate all aspects of school life and are the responsibility of every member of the school community to uphold. Individual difference is seen as a positive feature in our school, where everyone is encouraged to be an individual and to see the strengths in others.


2022 - 2025


Equality Objectives 

We are committed to ensuring equality of education and opportunity for all pupils, staff, parents and carers, irrespective of race, gender, disability, belief, religion or socio-economic background.


In order to further support pupils, raise standards and ensure inclusive teaching, we have set the following objectives:


  1. To diminish the difference between children of vulnerable groups and all pupils.
  2. To raise attainment of boys in reading and writing.
  3. To increase pupil awareness and understanding of different communities, e.g. Diwali, Eid and Christmas through celebrating cultural events throughout the year. 



* These objectives have been agreed following analysis of school data and will be monitored by the Local Governing Body. Annual updates will show progress against each objective.


Further Information


SHINE MAT Equality Policy


The Equality Act 2010 and schools